I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my food magazine “collection” (which I know is just another word for crazy) and what I can do with all of these magazines I subscribe to each month.  It’s seriously out of control, and amazon.com is not helping by offering $5 subscriptions!  I do enjoy reading all of the magazines I receive but only make a few new things each month, so I decided to make at least 2 recipes out of each magazine, each month.  If several months go by and I’m not making anything then I’m not going to renew that magazine.  I swear.  This will help weed out some of the magazines I get and hopefully we will discover new recipes we enjoy making and eating.

I have been getting Everyday Food for years and love that magazine-lette (it’s wee…it’s not a full-blown magazine).  I typically make several dishes from each issue and many of their recipes are my go-to recipes when I don’t know what to make.  Their Lentil Soup from 2003 is one of those.  It’s quick, delicious and often requested by friends and family.  It’s the perfect winter soup recipe and is vegetarian to boot.  Another favorite (and also vegetarian) is their Quick Chickpea Curry recipe from the Jan 2010 issue.  This is not something we would normally eat.  I love Indian food, but prefer an Indian buffet rather than just one dish for the variety.  This curry was quick (as the name implies) and was a perfect lunch to whip up while we both were working from home.

Quick Chickpea Curry from Everyday Food

You can find the recipe here or below:

Quick Chickpea Curry

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced small
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 cinnamon stick (3 inches)
  • Pinch of ground cloves
  • 2 cans (15 ounces each) no-salt-added chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 3 tablespoons ketchup
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • Chopped cilantro and lemon wedges (optional), for serving

Directions

  1. In a large straight-sided skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until dark brown around edges, about 6 minutes. Add garlic, curry, cinnamon, and cloves and cook, stirring, until fragrant, 30 seconds. Add chickpeas, ketchup, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and 2 cups water. Bring to a boil; reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook 20 minutes. Uncover, and increase heat to medium-high; cook until sauce is slightly reduced, 5 minutes. Serve topped with cilantro, with lemon wedges alongside if desired.
