It’s been unseasonably warm in Minnesota and we’re seeing signs of Spring weeks earlier than we usually do.  No complaints here, but after yesterday’s post reverting back to the Super Bowl – amazing what a look through iPhoto will drudge up – I thought I’d bring it back to the here and now…

Angel Food with Berries and Cream

Angel Food with Berries and Cream

Since it was in the mid-70s and we were having some friends over for BBQ chicken I thought a summery berry cake would be a good ending.  This cake was delicious and I have spent most of the day thinking about it.  I cannot wait to get home and have a slice!

Angel Food with Berries and Cream

1 store-bought Angel Food Cake (not a loaf)

12 oz  – 1/3 less fat cream cheese

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 80z tub of Cool Whip (thawed) – I used the light Cool Whip

Assorted berries – I did strawberries, blueberries and raspberries though I think thawed frozen cherries, blackberries or any other combo would be delicious

With a hand mixer whip the cream cheese with the powdered sugar until a smooth consistency.  Fold in the Cool Whip and stir gently until smooth.  (I will fully admit that I did not wait until my Cool Whip was thawed, so I ended up mixing it into the cream cheese mixture with the hand mixer.  No harm done, it worked perfectly, but I know you’re supposed to gently fold in whipped cream to keep the volume.  Whatevs, I say.)

Slice the cake through the middle, separating it into two layers, a top and a bottom.  I always have a hard time keeping a straight line but the hole in the center helped me keep an eye on the knife.  Set the top aside and spoon about 1/2 the cream cheese mixture on top of the cake.  Sprinkle with 1/2 the assorted berries and put the cake top on.  Spoon the remaining cream cheese mixture over the top and sprinkle with the remaining berries.  Keep in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Enjoy!

