I discovered what could be a very dangerous feature on my bread machine – the quick dough setting.  I was skeptical at first.  How could good dough only take 45 minutes, including the preheat?  Well it was the most tender dough.  Very smooth and supple. And in only 45 minutes?  I definitely see a lot more pizzas and rolls in our future…which can’t be all bad.

P8222369

We were debating what to bring to our neighborhood block party and pepperoni rolls were in the running.  I grew up on these rolls but haven’t had one in years.  After assembling the rolls and smelling them in the oven (and taking a few sneak pieces of pepperoni!), I knew they wouldn’t make it to the party.

P8222378

P8222382

Pepperoni Rolls

Make your favorite, go-to pizza dough recipe.  I sincerely hope you have a quick dough setting so you can enjoy these rolls that much sooner.  My recipe is from this book and makes a 1 1/2 pound loaf.  For the Pepperoni Rolls I made the Basic Pizza Dough.  For pizzas, I usually make the whole wheat pizza dough because I like the nutty-ness. ‘Cause I’m nutty that way.

After the dough is complete I divided it into two balls.  Roll out one on a floured surface, into about a 12″ square.  Layer pepperoni with shredded mozzarella.  Roll the dough up like a pepperoni-y Ho-Ho and place on a baking sheet.  Do the same with the other dough half and let them rest and rise again, about 1/2 hour.  Brush with an egg wash and bake at 400 about 30 minutes or until golden brown.

P8222416

Slice and enjoy.  Best served room temp, but who can wait that long?